Manner and Politeness

Everybody has their own preference over the features of social structures. Some may prefer friendliness and warmth , other may feel that organized and well-ordered society are perfect for their life. As for me, I always see that politeness and manners are the most regarded feature. It is kind of rude to compare modern Japanese people with my fellows Indonesian – urbanites Indonesian. Not that we are that much behind in every way and in general view point. Sometime when luck is on my way, I can still find honest, polite and genuine persons amid the business -as- usual life style commoners. That aura would resonance and always make me feel better as a human being.

Again, this is when in luck.

But Japanese are always polite. This is the land where everyday we are bombarded by information or signs that constantly remind us of one thing: think of others (Kotaku). Sometimes, there is no strict rules, or what would be the consequences if we broke them. Or even a fine. No, the consequence is disrespect from other people. And here, it is enough as a social punishment.

Most Japanese are  private person. I think that explains why.

This habit may as well is rooted in basic education  for centuries. Here, if you-a foreigner, incidentally stumble with someone, no matter what he/she is, no matter how old he/she is,  the Japanese is always the one who say sorry first. I always wonder, where did it come from? religion? education? economy? or they are just plain a different society from a distant.

What  more intriguing is, this habit is not eroded by the intervention of modernism. Back in my home, I always found the graceful and politeness of people in the village  is still genuine and un-artificial. Apparently, this is a rare thing to be found in the city. Modernism is not always correlate with manners.

Again, this is the most thing that bother me about Japanese. In a good way.

That is why I so perfectly feel fit in this society.

Manners and politeness, one most important thing I learn from Japanese.

About this entry