Gitanjali

I remember when I was in elementary school – I was 10-12. Back then every morning when we started the class, I -to be appointed as a chief of the class, always marching our classmates an anjali – or salutation to the teacher. We stood with both palm close on our chest and said: Om Swastiastu. Off course I didn’t knew really what was that meaning, and that really didn’t matter to me as well because it was a good habit.

We salute to the teacher on their wisdom and knowledge. Isn’t that good manner?

Now I happen to read one of the most wonderful poem that brings its author to be the first non-westerners who got Nobel Prize in Literature – in 1913. He is Rabindranath Tagore.

Honestly, It’s hard to read, evermore  its very hard to understand. But the more I tried to grasp the meaning and feel what is likely in his mind when these words flow out, the more I begin to silent in awe. How deep is his senses and feelings about something that is touched in his heart. Poets (Tagore, Gibran, Rumi – a few that I admire) are rare people who really have a gift to transcend reality into another and we- layman,  still feel good about it.

They are like a doctor for our “heart”.

Purity

Life of my life, I shall ever try to keep my body pure, knowing

that thy living touch is upon all my limbs.

I shall ever try to keep all untruths out from my thoughts, knowing

that thou art that truth which has kindled the light of reason in my mind.

I shall ever try to drive all evils away from my heart and keep my

love in flower, knowing that thou hast thy seat in the inmost shrine of my heart.

And it shall be my endeavor to reveal thee in my actions, knowing it

is thy power gives me strength to act.

We put our whole energy and faith to find our true love only to find out that we will loose it.
But it worth the life and I guess I have a full good faith at my disposal to live.

I guess so.

About this entry