SEATUC Presentation

SEATUC Presentation

SEATUC Presentation

This is the first International Conference in 2009 I participate as a doctor student, and submit a paperwork of about six-months elaboration of AI in architecture design. Just the beginning of the long road AI in architecture’s saga.  Artificial Intelligence is extremely difficult subject, at least in this life time. There are a lot of things we do not know yet about human intelligence. On particular design thinking, human (architect) to computer is like  caveman with coal. We know its a tool and at the end it will made us. By building it shaped, by city it designed. A light-year away before computer even begins to think before it begins to design.

I will not talk about artificial intelligence as mechanism of design thinking, yet. I will save it for my post-doc (hopefully). The one particularly I am interested in right now is how to simulate human behavior based on their AI driven by architectural design context. Behavior pattern simulation is common in safety-related simulation but not as design strategy simulation. How come? because it involves intangible variables such as spatial quality. We know architects love grey-area mostly comprehensibly by themselves. Post Occupancy Evaluation is another method to quantify human behavior after they inhabit such architecture products. As for design strategy tools, along with the tool in the armada of Digital Architecture Designs (CAD abbreviation is no longer appropriate)  this method hopefully will enhance the critical dialogue between human and computer during design process.

I feel sad when the  dialogue of computer in (architecture) design process mostly occupied by the chicken-egg debate between computer skill or manual skill, or computer-based presentation will bias design aspect and so forth. Wait a minute, that is my problem as a member of academia of one of the most respectable Architecture School in Indonesia. I hope I can contribute something to my ‘old-school’ school someday. Yeah, I’d made mistakes. I am just a  man.

One aspect for sure to be the biggest challenge is the fact that we are  always proud of who we are and what kind of magic we can produce. Pretty building, jaw-dropping- intertwining shapes that makes our eyes grateful to be the seeing agents. Design is always ours. Like in martial arts, particular movement is so sacred and extremely difficult that only the chosen one will master it.  If computer somehow can mimic our ability, that is different kind of story. Maybe different kind of future. Maybe we are extinct as a profession.

But using computer as an agent to evaluate our design, that is my story. And that story will use AI as agent’s brain. Well, not brain, just lines of codes. If I can use findings from behavioral sciences as part of my agent’s behavior, maybe I can see why some building has great ‘architecture‘ value but lack of human value after all.

We will see if Zaha Hadid or Eisenmann or Libeskind are as marvelous as most people think they are.

(I am fond of three of them, by the way)

The File in PPT

About this entry