Bus Graphic Design Competition

Sides

Sides

Front-Back-Concept

Front-Back-Concept

Jury's Comments

Jury's Comments

I won this Bus School Graphic Design Competition held by my school: Shibaura Institute of Technology. To be surprised, I really did not expect to win. Although I am really confident with the concept though. I think it would be one of the best school bus graphic :-). Well, it will represent high technology with the use of dark silver (I leave ordinary block colors simply because it won’t represent new-ness). Technology, slim, professional and smart is always associated with metallic-ly color. And the dark, because it is university. Not high school.

The rest of the design graphic was the theme of the competition: Technology for better environment. I came up with the naive idea: use electric-plug object to represent transformation from science and technology into the green and better environment. Science and technology were symbolized by molecules-like or amoeba-like objects and green environment, well..by using silhouettes of flowers and animals. Because of the color harmony, I did not push it into every objects. It just a matter of design and my subjective preferences. That is design. Always subjective.

I am glad to say that this part of idea was came from various sources. From hybrid car design into  the Sony’s new brand images. I just came with raw and look at the proper ingredients. Oh yes, the last thing is the tagline: Tomorrow’s Technology is Today’s Science. Pretty cool, heh?

About this entry