And Then There Were None

And Then There Were None

And Then There Were None

I owe Agatha Christie along with other detective wannabe fictional stories such as Enid Blyton’s Famous Five and Secret Seven (Lima Sekawan and Pasukan Mau Tahu in Indonesia, respectively), Alfred Hitchcock and The Three Investigators (Trio Detektif in Indonesia) for my entire teenager hood. In fact, I can still remember how proud I was for the first time printed typed with special paper my name card with three question marks on its back. It was 1988 and I was 15. What an era. Back then I can recalled, I for those fictions like today with internet (err..unlikely- maybe today with..um..Ludlum? Crichton?(RIP), Connelly? Peterson?) . I was not fond of Star Wars or Star Trek but darn sure I could speak aloud when it came to the detective stories. I was not quite sure why I so engaged and thrilled by the story, adventure and the twisting plot that they usually had. Mr. Poirot and Ms. Marple sagas came later after I finished enough enjoyed teenagers detectives (Oh yes..one more : Hardy’s Boys, how come I forgot that?).

Maybe it because of how brilliant the story engaged me to somehow involve in the situation or in some cases entice my intelligence to guess, at least, who Mr. Culprit was at the end. But of course, I never beat Mr. Poirot or Ms. Marple. I am not the one who meticulously can deduct every piece of information into one whole plot logic. Well, I guess that also because it is all in the paper, we tend to forget things in text base.

Another things of my complement is, in every story, Agatha Christie always pictured every character as a physician to the patient. Thorough, up close and personal as if we were introduced to somebody from our mother. Or as we overheard bunch of girl hanging around in a school cafeteria. It might because female author has strong senses in depicting characters. Sometime it’s boring though, witnessing Mr. Poirot in series of investigation with many possible suspects. Most of Agatha Christie’s stories are lack of ‘action‘ but instead, rich of details that hide between every conversation.

Looking back again on one of the most entertaining classic detective novels intrigues me to read on recent twisting-suspense criminal story. In one of my favorite Agatha Christie story: And Then There Were None, there was one scene (I think at the end) which has an eerie atmosphere (by the way she told us) as if I was in that situation and confront with such circumstance that I can’t get out of. The other magnum opus is Murder of Roger Acroyd. It simply the best.

About this entry