Mother Nature

Autumn Maple

Autumn Maple

One of the reason why autumn season (or “Aki” in Japanese) is my favorite season  because only in this season I can see vivid colors transformation from fresh green to banana yellow to golden orange to vermilion red to dark brown red. Especially when I with my friends traveled to sub-urban Japan, we can saw beautiful scenery, maple trees and colorful landscapes. This is just my home cannot beats!. And I thank for my CMOS sensor in my D40x for that reason too.

This autumn season became special for us because we held a trip to sub-urban Japan in Fukushima-ken  a two and a half hours by train plus two hours more by car. Honestly, it kind of reminds me for some culture villages I happened to visit last year. We visit a culture village which last about 500 years old. Typical Japanese house with massive thick grass roof, detail timber joinery and fire place at the center of the house. In West Java-in most of culture villages, fire place or kitchen in general, will be located at the back. Aside from the fireplace and tatami-oriented floor measurement, the structure of these vernacular houses is similiar. Further, if I count for the authenthicity, this Maezawa culture village is more artificial than one famous culture village back in my home: Kampung Naga. Even Kampung Naga is now considered already become artificial. Thanks to the tourists and overwhelming publications!.

Japanese has long known for their beliefs in mother nature. Even today, this beliefs become traditions and this tradition become habits. Look at their vegetarian foods, many kind of nature-related festivals, among others things. I sensed also this is similar with most of our culture villages. Long before the invasion of new beliefs, these people relied mostly from their nature with which they respect. I think this kind of relationship has more subtle foundation for the sustainability to our existence. If I brought Dan Brown’s words- before the dawn of ‘divine-based’ religion, we- human, respect natures as our cradle of life. Therefore we worshiped them, we thread them respectfully. Because if they suffer, we suffer as well. I don’t think any modern religions which conquer our planet now consider much about the nature.

Maybe because nowadays we are ruled by male-kind of God, not female-kind of Goddess…:-)

Well, at the root of Japanese they are seemly also very pagan (again, borrowed from Da Vinci Code). Like in Bali, or Sunda or Ancient Java, they built shringes to respect nature, to keep human-nature relationship in balance. Nothing wrong with that, furthermore I feel like this kind of unconscious frame of thought will effect to our personalities.Instead of judging others for not following our “true” path, why not spreading harmonious life ? Something that I cannot understand from my own so-called religious leaders.

That’s why I never listen to any of them.

I keep my beliefs at the bottom of my mind and heart.

About this entry