Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman – Haruki Murakami

Blind Willow Sleeping Woman

Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman

Excerpt for this book- as any other of his books is like this: Fictional world of Murakami is extraordinary and somehow surreal (last one added by me).

At first I thought this was a novel, though I cannot find any relevance on its title. Somehow I want to know the fictional world from Japanese writers. How they perceive world, how their characters somehow embodied Japanese cultural and thus drive the storylines. There must be something different between i.e how westerners encapsulated sadness, happyness in their stories  with Japanese counterpart. And that why I began to be astonized by Murakami-san world.

This is a compendium of short stories. Although this is translated version (by Professor of Japanese literature), the essence of each stories can still be comprehended. Murakami-san told us about friendship, happyness, sadness, loneliness and desire in a different manner, I mean he can grows a deep story about friendship from the perspective of…a blind willow..why blind willow? and why sleeping woman?

Not to be compared with other pulp-fictions, Murakami-san stories somehow always has its minor colors. At the end of every story we may think what was beneath the story. Like an onion, I find some of the stories told me things more than I had read.

His story is blend of deep and rich meaning, surreal, meticulous choice of words, and at the same time also has tragic comedy, and pop-cultures.

About this entry